The above photo was taken probably in the 1940’s in front of the former home of Anna Ruth Meyer. She had donated it to the city of Monroe for use as a public library. It was eventually torn down in the 60’s and a new facility was built on the site. The library eventually moved away from downtown. The second building was sold to St. Francis Hospital when the library moved and it now serves as a meeting and training facility. The above photo can be found in the collection of the Ouachita Parish Public Library.
ouachitaparishhistory 1 Minute
Published by ouachitaparishhistory
Genealogy librarian with 25 years experience in the library field. View all posts by ouachitaparishhistory