Mr. Brown was born near Waverly, Tennessee. July 2, 1865. He moved to Ouachita Parish in 1899 and soon became principal in the public school system. He was a charter member of the Kiwanis club, a co-founder of Kiroli Park and a founder of what is now the University of Louisiana at Monroe. A campus building, Brown Hall, is named for him. Mr. Brown died October 17, 1943 and was buried in Riverview Cemetery.
ouachitaparishhistory 1 Minute
Published by ouachitaparishhistory
Genealogy librarian with 25 years experience in the library field. View all posts by ouachitaparishhistory