The above building was built in 1878 by Frederick Endom. He and his brother were German emigrants who settled in Monroe just before the Civil War broke out. Fred was a very well respected figure in Monroe. His prominence soon led him into politics, where he eventually served several terms as Monroe’s mayor. The Livery was torn down in 1922 and is now the site of the Vantage building. The front page of the May 30, 1922 News-Star laments the passing of this building.
ouachitaparishhistory 1 Minute
Published by ouachitaparishhistory
Genealogy librarian with 26 years experience in the library field. View all posts by ouachitaparishhistory