According to the News-Star of April 29, 1937, the above old residence stood at the corner of Washington and North Second Streets. It had been built in 1871 by attorney Robert Richardson. In 1880 State Senator Ivy Isaac Davis bought it and lived here until his death in 1910. His widow Sarah lived here too until she died in 1924. It was then given to the Y.W.C.A. as their headquarters until they moved to Jackson street. It had 17 rooms and two baths. It was torn down in the spring of 1937 to make way for a parking lot. Luckily, the above engraving, found in the 1893 Worlds Fair Edition of the Evening News still shows us what it once looked like.
ouachitaparishhistory 1 Minute
Published by ouachitaparishhistory
Genealogy librarian with 25 years experience in the library field. View all posts by ouachitaparishhistory